TX License to Carry Class
TX Laws 2016
How to Apply
with the State
Before starting the registration process please review
the state's Eligibility Requirements to
determine if you can qualify for a Concealed Handgun License. This link takes you to the State of Texas requirements which must be
met to get your Concealed Carry Permit. Please review these before signing up
for my class.
Applying for the License
There are two steps to the application process, taking a certified training course and
completing the State application. These can be done concurrent; you can do either one
first however the fast track in this process is to apply to the State before
taking our course as the Federal background check takes the most time in the
process. get your state application submitted on-line, get your electronic fingerprints done
than come and enjoy our course.
After passing our training course and submitting
the on line State Application it will take approx. 60-90 days for the State to send you
your license so the sooner you take the course and get your paperwork processed the better.
Concealed Handgun Licensing
License fee paid to the State of Texas is $140. People 60 or over get this
for half price $70.00. There are other price breaks so check on the State web
site as these are subject to change.
The online State application may be found at CHL
have one year
from the date of your application to complete your fingerprint appointment and
submit the CHL-100 Class Completion Certificate which we will give you after
the successfully completed our course.
of March 1, 2011 per a Texas DPS
Policy change. Your
fingerprints must be taken electronically at a State approved agency. When applying for the
State application you will be directed where to go for your fingerprints.
The Texas DPS recently changed their requirements regarding passport photos
for your Concealed Handgun License (CHL). Applicants
are required to use the photo on
their Texas Drivers License instead of submitting new photos. Unless you
have a out of state driver's license
Take our Training Course
- This includes
a written examination and a shooting practical. You must pass each with
a score of 70% or better.
- The written exam covers law, nonviolent conflict resolution, and
handgun use and storage.
- The shooting practical requires you to fire fifty rounds from a
handgun of .38 caliber or greater. You can shoot
either a Semi-automatic or a revolver.
- After you pass both tests the instructor will
give you a copy of your Form
CHL-100, which you must sign. You will be given one of form to mail
to the state and one to keep.
Submitting your application by mail (on paper) requires certain documents
to be notarized and will
delay application processing. It is best to submit the State application